Published!

So this semester I have been very excited. Finally after two and a half years in Melbourne studying writing, I have finally been brave enough to start submitting my small stories and poems. And well, they’ve started to be published.

This is a big deal to me, because ultimately this is what I want to do. I want to write and craft and all of those little things in between. The fact that someone actually wants to read my stuff is a little shocking, but very rewarding.

I tried to find an article on Rookie that really resonated with me. But despite how hard I tried to search for the article and random key words I couldn’t find it! I wish I could remember the author’s name. Regardless, she was talking about publishing and the moment after. She said, take a moment to congratulate yourself and enjoy the buzz of the byline essentially, and then, get back to work. It’s that simple, and I feel like no truer words have been spoken. Well that’s an exaggerated cliché isn’t it! But god I wish I remembered her name!!

In any case, here are two of my published works to share with you blogosphere, just for you!

The first was an article that I wrote for Farrago at the University of Melbourne. They didn’t have any room for their magazine to publish the piece, but they did publish it online. So really, It will remain timeless haha! 😉 You can read it here if you want. It’s called Life of a Yarn Bomb, and talks about my own small experiences with the ephemeral artwork.

The second piece is a short story that I wrote for my short fiction class two semesters ago. The piece was just sitting on my computer when I first heard about the Monash University Undergraduate Prize for Creative Writing. At first I did absolutely nothing about it. I thought of my story and then did nothing. It was only when they extended the submission date that I felt pro-active enough to give it a go. And hey! It paid off! For the first time ever, my piece was shortlisted in the top 15 stories out of nearly 400. Far out. I was actually, genuinely convinced it was a mistake. But sure enough, the shortlisted entrants were published into a Penguin e-book in conjunction with Melbourne’s Emerging Writers’ Festival, and here it is, in the virtual flesh. Like I said, far freaking out! I’m allowed to be excited in front of you, aren’t I dear blogosphere? 

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

